# **FW-001**

## **Request to Waive Court Fees**

### CONFIDENTIAL

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

•	re getting public be						
_	income to pay for	•		•			
may use this form to ask the court to waive your court fees. The court may order you to answer questions about your finances. If the court waives the fees, you							
-	_	•	ces. If the cou	rt waives the fe	es, you		
	l have to pay later						
	u cannot give the c				Fi	II in court name and	d street address:
	<ul> <li>Your financial situation improves during this case, or</li> <li>You settle your civil case for \$10,000 or more. The trial court that waives</li> </ul>						f California, County of
					C /1	MERCED	
	ur fees will have a						Merced, CA 95340
	ived fees and costs			•	-		St., Merced, CA 95340
	our Information	-				1159 G St., L	os Banos, CA 93635
Stı	reet or mailing add ty:	ress:				III in accompand	nd name:
Ci	ty:		State	e: Zip:	<i>FI</i>	ii iii case riurriber al	nu name.
Ph	none:			`		ase Number:	
(2) Yo	our Job, if you ha						
Na	ame of employer:	0			c	Case Name:	
En	nployer's address:						
	our Lawyer, if yo					mhor and State	Rar number):
3	Jui Lawyer, 11 yo	u nave one (na	me, jirm or aj	jiiiaiion, aaare	ss, phone hui	noer, and state	Dai namber).
— а.	The lawyer has ag	reed to advance	e all or a port	ion of your fee	s or costs (ch	eck one): Yes	□ No □
	(If yes, your lawy		_	-	9 01 00000 (077	2011 0110). 1 22	
0.	If your lawyer is n	_	, -	-	on vour low i	ncome vou may	v have to so to a
	hearing to explain				•	ncome, you may	nave to go to a
$\bigcirc$ w	hat court's fees		_				
•						ees and Costs (1	form FW-001-INFO).)
		` •				,	nation Sheet on Waiver
	_			W-015-INFO).	_	out (See Injoin	idition Sheet on Waiver
(5) W	hy are you askir						
						).  Food Str	amps  Supp. Sec. Inc.
u.							Tribal TANF  CAPI
b.			•				ount listed below. (If
0.				on page 2 of th		ess than the ann	ount listed below. (1)
	Family Size	Family Income	Family Size	Family Income	Family Size	Family Income	If more than 6 people
	1	\$1,341.67	3	\$2,287.50	5	\$3,233.34	at home, add \$472.92
	2	\$1,814.59	4	\$2,760.42	6	\$3,706.25	for each extra person.
c.	☐ I do not have	enough income	to pay for my	y household's b	asic needs ar	ad the court fees	s. I ask the court to:
		d you <u>must</u> fill		,			
		court fees and		waive s	some of the c	ourt fees	

**6**) [

☐ let me make payments over time

Check here if you asked the court to waive your court fees for this case in the last six months.

(If your previous request is reasonably available, please attach it to this form and check here): ☐

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information I have provided on this form and all attachments is true and convect.

on	this	torm	and	all	attachm	ents is	strue	and	corre	ct
Da	te:									

Sign here

Print your name here

If you checked 5a on page 1, do not fill	Lout below. If yo	u checked F	Sh fill out ques	etions 7 8 and 0	anly
If you checked 5a on page 1, do not this If you checked 5c, you <b>must</b> fill out this sheet of paper and write Financial Info	s entire page. If	you need m	ore space, atta	ach form MC-025	
Check here if your income changes a lot from lf it does, complete the form based on your the past 12 months.		a. Ca		-	\$
8 Your Gross Monthly Income		(1)		(List bank name and ame	\$
a. List the source and amount of any income you including: wages or other income from work spousal/child support, retirement, social secund unemployment, military basic allowance for oveterans payments, dividends, interest, trust net business or rental income, reimbursement expenses, gambling or lottery winnings, etc.	before deductions, urity, disability, quarters (BAQ), income, annuities, nt for job-related	(3) c. Ca	rs, boats, and other Make / Year	r vehicles Fair Market Value \$	\$How Much You Still Owe
(1)		(3)		\$	\$
(2)	\$	d. Re	al estate Address	Fair Market Value	Still Owe
(4)		(1) (2)		\$\$ \$	\$ \$
b. Your total monthly income:  9 Household Income	\$	e. Othe	er personal property	<sup>φ</sup> y (jewelry, furniture, furs,	φ
a. List the income of all other persons living in y depend in whole or in part on you for support depend in whole or in part for support.		(1)		Fair Market Value \$	Still Owe \$
Name Age Relationship	Income	(2)			\$
(2)	\$		-	ions and Expenses ons and the monthly amo	ount below:
(3)		(1)		\$	
(4)		(2)		\$	
b. Total monthly income of persons above:	\$			\$	
Total monthly income and household income (8b plus 9b):	\$	b. Rer	nt or house paymen	nt & maintenance	\$
			od and household s	• •	\$
		e. Clo	ities and telephone		\$
			indry and cleaning		\$
			dical and dental exp	penses	\$
		_	urance (life, health,	accident, etc.)	\$
		i. Sch	nool, child care		\$
		j. Chi	ld, spousal support	(another marriage)	\$
		I. Inst	nsportation, gas, au allment payments ( Paid to:	uto repair and insurance (list each below):	\$
					\$
		(3)			\$
To list any other facts you want the court to ke		• •			\$
unusual medical expenses, etc., attach form M	I		ges/earnings withhouse	-	Ψ
attach a sheet of paper and write Financial Inf	ormation and	-		enses (list each below).	How Messes
your name and case number at the top.			Paid to:		How Much?
Check here if you attach a	nother page. 🔲				\$
Important! If your financial situation or abi	ility to pay				<b>\$</b>
court fees improves, you must notify the co		(3)			<b>\$</b>
days on form FW-010.	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	Total mont	hly expenses (a	dd 11a –11n above):	\$

Case Number:

Your name:

	FW-003 Order on Court Fee Waive (Superior Court)	r	Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.
1	Person who asked the court to waive court fees: Name:		
	Street or mailing address:		
	City: State: Zip:		
2	Lawyer, if person in 1 has one (name, firm name, ad phone number, e-mail, and State Bar number):	dress,	
			Fill in court name and street address:  Superior Court of California, County of MERCED 2260 N. St., Merced, CA 95340 627 W. 21st St., Merced, CA 95340 1159 G St., Los Banos, CA 93635
			Fill in case number and name:
(3)	A request to waive court fees was filed on (date):		Case Number:
	☐ The court made a previous fee waiver order in this case	on (date):	
Dog	d this form carefully. All checked boxes ☑ are court or	dare	Case Name:
Neu	u this form curefully. All checked boxes ware court or	aers.	
noti to p	change in your financial circumstances during this case that i fy the trial court within five days. (Use form FW-010.) If you ay the fees. If you settle your civil case for \$10,000 or more, bunt of the waived fees. The trial court may not dismiss the ca	win your case, the trial court w	the trial court may order the other side ill have a lien on the settlement in the
4	After reviewing your: Request to Waive Court Fe the court makes the following orders:	es 🗌 Reg	quest to Waive Additional Court Fees
	a. The court <b>grant</b> s your request, as follows:		
	<ul> <li>(1) Fee Waiver. The court grants your request and ware Rules of Court, rules 3.55 and 8.818.) You do not Filing papers in superior court</li> <li>Making copies and certifying copies</li> <li>Sheriff's fee to give notice</li> <li>Reporter's fee for attendance at hearing or trial, if the and you request that the court provide an official results of Assessment for court investigations under Probate 6.</li> </ul>	• Court fee • Giving n • Sending ne court is not e	e court fees for the following: e for phone hearing otice and certificates papers to another court department lectronically recording the proceeding
	<ul> <li>Preparing, certifying, copying, and sending the cler</li> <li>Holding in trust the deposit for a reporter's transcrip</li> <li>Making a transcript or copy of an official electronic</li> </ul>	k's transcript or ot on appeal und	n appeal er rule 8.130 or 8.834
	(2) Additional Fee Waiver. The court grants your rand costs that are checked below. (Cal. Rules of checked items.	equest and waiv	es your additional superior court fees
	<ul><li>Jury fees and expenses</li><li>Fees for court-appointed experts</li><li>Other (specify):</li></ul>		a peace officer to testify in court pointed interpreter fees for a witness

Your name:	Case Number:	
b. 🔲 The	he court <b>denies</b> your fee waiver request because:	
<b>W</b> ; yo	<b>Warning!</b> If you miss the deadline below, the court cannot process your request for hearing or the court you filed with your original request. If the papers were a notice of appeal, the appeal may be dismissed.	papers
	<ul> <li>Your request is incomplete. You have 10 days after the clerk gives notice of this Order (see dayn next page) to: <ul> <li>Pay your fees and costs, or</li> <li>File a new revised request that includes the incomplete items listed:</li> <li>□ Below □ On Attachment 4b(1)</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	te of service
(2)	The information you provided on the request shows that you are not eligible for the fee was requested for the reasons stated: Below On Attachment 4b(2)	iver you
	The court has enclosed a blank <i>Request for Hearing About Court Fee Waiver Order (Supe</i> (form FW-006). You have <b>10 days</b> after the clerk gives notice of this order (see date of ser  • Pay your fees and costs in full or the amount listed in c below, or  • Ask for a hearing in order to show the court more information. (Use form FW-006 to hearing.)	vice below) to:
c. (1)	The court needs more information to decide whether to grant your request. You must go to date on page 3. The hearing will be about the questions regarding your eligibility that are s  Below On Attachment 4c(1)	
(2)	Bring the items of proof to support your request, if reasonably available, that are listed:  Below  On Attachment 4c(2)	

Your name:		Case Numb	er:
		Name and address of cour	t if different from above:
Hearing → Date:	Time:		
Dept.:	Room:		
request to waive court fees,	and you will have 10 days t	court on your hearing date, the good pay your fees. If you miss that the papers were a notice of app	t deadline, the court cannot
Date:			
	Signature of (che	ck one):   Judicial Officer	Clerk, Deputy
are available if you	ask at least five days before	real-time captioning, or sign land the hearing. Contact the clerk' and Response (form MC-410).	s office for Request for
	Clerk's Cer	tificate of Service	
certify that I am not involved in the			
☐ I handed a copy of this Order to ☐ This order was mailed first class from (city): ☐ A certificate of mailing is a	s, postage paid to the party	and attorney if any at the addr	
Date:			
	Cle	erk, by	. Deputy
		me:	



	FW-003	Order on Court Fee (Superior Court)	e Waiver		Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.
1	Person who aske Name:	ed the court to waive cou	rt fees:		
	Street or mailing ac	ldress:			
	City:	State:	Zip:		
2		<b>n in ① has one</b> (name, fire ail, and State Bar number):	n name, addres:	<i>Σ</i> ,	Fill in court name and street address:
					Superior Court of California, County of MERCED  2260 N. St., Merced, CA 95340  627 W. 21st St., Merced, CA 95340  1159 G St., Los Banos, CA 93635
					Fill in case number and name:
(3)	A request to waive	court fees was filed on (date)	• ·		Case Number:
	☐ The court made	e a previous fee waiver order	in this case on	(date):	
Rea	d this form careful	ly. All checked boxes ☑ ar	e court orders	•	Case Name:
		•			
is a noti to p	change in your finan fy the trial court with ay the fees. If you se	cial circumstances during this in five days. (Use form FW-0	s case that incread 10.) If you win <b>0</b> or more, the tr	ases your a your case, rial court w	I also charge you collection fees. If there bility to pay fees and costs, you must the trial court may order the other side will have a lien on the settlement in the is paid.
4	After reviewing you the court makes the	nr:	ve Court Fees	☐ Re	quest to Waive Additional Court Fees
	a.   The court gr	ants your request, as follows	:		
	Rules of  Filing pape  Making co  Sheriff's fe  Reporter's and you rec  Assessment  Preparing,  Holding in  Making a t	Court, rules 3.55 and 8.818., ers in superior court pies and certifying copies ee to give notice fee for attendance at hearing quest that the court provide art for court investigations und certifying, copying, and send trust the deposit for a reporteranscript or copy of an official	or trial, if the con official reported er Probate Code ing the clerk's transcript on all electronic reco	• Court fe • Giving r • Sending purt is not ear a section 15 ranscript or appeal underding under	n appeal der rule 8.130 or 8.834 er rule 8.835
	and cost checked ☐ Ju ☐ Fe	s that are checked below. (Co	al. Rules of Cou	rt, rule 3.50	ves your additional superior court fees 6.) You do not have to pay for the a peace officer to testify in court ppointed interpreter fees for a witness

Your name:	Case Number:
b.   The court denies your fee waiver request because:	
Warning! If you miss the deadline below, the court cannot process your requous you filed with your original request. If the papers were a notice of appeal, the	uest for hearing or the court papers e appeal may be dismissed.
(1) Your request is incomplete. You have 10 days after the clerk gives n on next page) to:  • Pay your fees and costs, or  • File a new revised request that includes the incomplete item  ☐ Below ☐ On Attachment 4b(1)	otice of this Order (see date of service
(2)  The information you provided on the request shows that you are requested for the reasons stated:  Below On Attachme	
The court has enclosed a blank <i>Request for Hearing About Cour</i> (form FW-006). You have <b>10 days</b> after the clerk gives notice of • Pay your fees and costs in full or the amount listed in c belo • Ask for a hearing in order to show the court more informating hearing.)	this order (see date of service below) to: bw, or
c. (1) The court needs more information to decide whether to grant you date on page 3. The hearing will be about the questions regarding Below On Attachment 4c(1)	
(2)  Bring the items of proof to support your request, if reasonably a Below  On Attachment 4c(2)	vailable, that are listed:

Your name:		Case Number:
		Name and address of court if different from above:
Hearing > Date:	Time:	
Date Dept.:	Room:	
request to waive co	ourt fees, and you will have 10 days to	ourt on your hearing date, the judge will deny your pay your fees. If you miss that deadline, the court cannot be papers were a notice of appeal, the appeal may be
Date:		
	Signature of (check	k one):
are availab	ole if you ask at least five days before t	ommodations eal-time captioning, or sign language interpreter services the hearing. Contact the clerk's office for <i>Request for and Response</i> (form MC-410). (Civ. Code, § 54.8.)
	Clerk's Certi	ificate of Service
certify that I am not invo	lved in this case and (check one):	
I handed a copy of this	Order to the party and attorney, if any	y, listed in <b>1</b> and <b>2</b> , at the court, on the date below.
	, California	nd attorney, if any, at the addresses listed in 1 and 2, a, on the date below.
Date:		
		k, by, Deputy ne:



### INFORMATION SHEET ON WAIVER OF SUPERIOR COURT FEES AND COSTS

If you have been sued or if you wish to sue someone, if you are filing or have received a family law petition, or if you are asking the court to appoint a guardian for a minor or a conservator for an adult or are an appointed guardian or conservator, and if you (or your ward or conservatee) cannot afford to pay court fees and costs, you may not have to pay them in order to go to court. If you (or your ward or conservatee) are getting public benefits, are a low-income person, or do not have enough income to pay for your (or his or her) household's basic needs and your court fees, you may ask the court to waive all or part of those fees.

- 1. To make a request to the court to waive your fees in superior court, complete the Request to Waive Court Fees (form FW-001) or, if you are petitioning for the appointment of a guardian or conservator or are an appointed guardian or conservator, complete the Request to Waive Court Fees (Ward or Conservatee) (form FW-001-GC). If you qualify, the court will waive all or part of its fees for the following:
  - Filing papers in superior court (other than for an appeal in a case with a value of over \$25,000)
  - · Making and certifying copies
- Giving notice and certificates

• Sheriff's fee to give notice

- Sending papers to another court department
- Court fee for telephone hearing
- Reporter's fee for attendance at hearing or trial, if the court is not electronically recording the proceeding and you request that the court provide an official reporter (use form FW-020 to ask for a court reporter)
- Preparing, certifying, copying, and sending the clerk's transcript on appeal
- Holding in trust the deposit for a reporter's transcript on appeal under Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.833 or 8.834
- Making a transcript or copy of an official electronic recording under Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.835
- 2. You may ask the court to waive other court fees during your case in superior court as well. To do that, complete a Request to Waive Additional Court Fees (Superior Court) (form FW-002) or Request to Waive Additional Court Fees (Superior Court) (Ward or Conservatee) (form FW-002-GC). The court will consider waiving fees for items such as the following, or other court services you need for your case:
  - Jury fees and expenses

• Fees for a peace officer to testify in court

• Fees for court-appointed experts

• Court-appointed interpreter fees for a witness

- Other necessary court fees
- 3. If you want the Appellate Division of the Superior Court or the Court of Appeal to review an order or judgment against you and you want the court fees waived, ask for and follow the instructions on *Information Sheet on Waiver of Appellate Court Fees (Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, Appellate Division)* (form APP-015/FW-015-INFO).

#### **IMPORTANT INFORMATION!**

- You are signing your request under penalty of perjury. Answer truthfully, accurately, and completely.
- The court may ask you for information and evidence. You may be ordered to go to court to answer questions about your ability, or the ability of your ward or conservatee, to pay court fees and costs and to provide proof of eligibility. Any initial fee waiver you or your ward or conservatee are granted may be ended if you do not go to court when asked. You or your ward's or conservatee's estate may be ordered to repay amounts that were waived if the court finds you were not eligible for the fee waiver.
- Public benefits programs listed on the application form. In item 5 on the Request to Waive Court Fees (item 8 of the Request to Waive Court Fees (Ward or Conservatee)), there is a list of programs from which you (or your ward or conservatee) may be receiving benefits, listed by the abbreviations they are commonly known by. The full names of those programs can be found in Government Code section 68632(a), and are also listed here:
  - Medi-Cal
  - Food Stamps—California Food Assistance Program, CalFresh Program, or SNAP
  - SSP—State Supplemental Payment
  - Supp. Sec. Inc.—Supplemental Security Income (not Social Security)
  - SSP—State Supplemental Payment

- IHSS—In-Home Supportive Services
- CalWORKs—California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids Act
- Tribal TANF—Tribal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
- CAPI—Cash Assistance Program for Aged, Blind, or Disabled Legal Immigrants
- If you receive a fee waiver, you must tell the court if there is a change in your finances, or the finances of your ward or conservatee. You must tell the court within five days if those finances improve or if you, or your ward or conservatee, become able to pay court fees or costs during this case. (File Notice to Court of Improved Financial Situation or Settlement (form FW-010) or Notice to Court of Improved Financial Situation or Settlement (Ward or Conservatee) (form FW-010-GC) with the court.) You may be ordered to repay any amounts that were waived after your eligibility, or the eligibility of your ward or conservatee, came to an end.
- If you receive a judgment or support order in a family law matter: You may be ordered to pay all or part of your waived fees and costs if the court finds your circumstances have changed so that you can afford to pay. You will have the opportunity to ask the court for a hearing if the court makes such a decision.
- If you win your case in the trial court: In most circumstances the other side will be ordered to pay your waived fees and costs to the court. The court will not enter a satisfaction of judgment until the court is paid. (This does not apply in unlawful detainer cases. Special rules apply in family law cases and in guardianships and conservatorships. (Gov. Code, § 68637(d), (e); Cal. Rules of Court, rule 7.5.).
- If you settle your civil case for \$10,000 or more: Any trial court-waived fees and costs must first be paid to the court out of the settlement. The court will have a lien on the settlement in the amount of the waived fees and costs. The court may refuse to dismiss the case until the lien is satisfied. A request to dismiss the case (use form CIV-110) must have a declaration under penalty of perjury that the waived fees and costs have been paid. Special rules apply to family law cases.
- The court can collect fees and costs due the court. If waived fees and costs are ordered paid to the trial court, or if you fail to make the payments over time, the court can start collection proceedings and add a \$25 fee plus any additional costs of collection to the other fees and costs owed to the court.
- If you are in jail or state prison: Prisoners may be required to pay the full cost of the filing fee in the trial court but may be allowed to do so over time. See Government Code section 68635.
- If you want a record made of your court hearing or trial: There are various reasons why you may want a record of the hearing or trial. Among other reasons, you may want to have a record for an appeal if you disagree with a court order or judgment. If you receive a fee waiver and if the court is not electronically recording the proceeding, you may ask the court to have an official court reporter attend your hearing or trial at no cost to you, so there can be a record of the proceeding. You should use form FW-020 to make the request, which you should file at least 10 calendar days before a scheduled court date, or as soon as you can if the court date is set with less than 10-days' notice.

If you want a written transcript after the hearing or trial, you will need to pay the court reporter separately, or arrange to get the transcript in another way. To learn about ways to do that, talk with the court's Self Help Center or read the information about appeals on the self-help webpages at <a href="https://courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-appeals.htm">https://courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-appeals.htm</a>.