15-Day Notice to Pay or Quit

(Nonpayment of Rent between September 1, 2020 and September 30, 2021)

(Code of Civil Procedure Section 1179.03(c)(4))

TO:

(Name of Tenant(s))

Premises location:

Amount of total rent due and owing:

(month/year) $ (month/year) $
(month/year) $ (month/year) $
(month/year) $ (month/year) $
(month/year) $ (month/year) $

YOU ARE HEREBY REQUIRED TO PAY this amount within fifteen (15) days (excluding Saturday, Sunday, and
Judicial Holidays) from the date of service to this notice on you, or to vacate and surrender possession of the
premises. Your failure to do so will result in legal proceedings being initiated against you to recover possession
of the premises, declare the forfeiture of the rental agreement, agreement or lease under while you occupy the
premises, and recover rents, damages, and costs of suit.

RENT IS TO BE PAID TO:

O The undersigned (landlord) O The following person:

At the following address: , California, Phone:

IN THE FOLLOWING MANNER:

O In person. Usual days and hours for rent collection are:

O By mail to the person and address indicated above.

O By deposit to account at , a financial institution located
within 5 miles of your rental, at , California.

O By electronic funds transfer previously established.

O High Income Tenant: Proof of income on file with your landlord indicates that your household makes at least 130
percent of the median income for the county where the rental property is located, as published by the Department of
Housing and Community Development in the Official State Income Limits for 2021. As a result, if you claim that you are
unable to pay the amount demanded by this notice because you have suffered COVID-19-related financial distress, you
are required to submit to your landlord documentation supporting your claim together with the completed Declaration
of COVID-19-related financial distress provided with this notice. If you fail to submit this documentation together with
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your declaration of COVID-19-related financial distress, and you do not either pay the amount demanded in this notice
or deliver possession of the premises back to your landlord as required by this notice, you will not be covered by the
eviction protections enacted by the California Legislature as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, and your landlord can
begin eviction proceedings against you as soon as this 15-day notice expires.

Civ. Code § 1946. If you elect to quit and to deliver up possession of the Premises instead of paying the total amount of
the rent demanded in this notice, “State law permits former tenants to reclaim abandoned personal property left at the
former address of the tenant, subject to certain conditions. You may or may not be able to reclaim property without
incurring additional costs, depending on the cost of storing the property and the length of time before it is reclaimed. In
general, these costs will be lower the sooner you contact your former landlord after being notified that property belonging
to you was left behind after you moved out.” If you are evicted, this same rule applies. (Civ. Code § 1946)

Please note that if the rent due includes any amount accrued during the period from 3/1/2020 through
8/31/2020, you will receive a separate notice for that amount. You will still owe the entire amount listed in
both notices.

PLEASE SEE THE IMPORTANT NOTICE AT THE END OF THIS NOTICE.

Date: Owner/Agent:

DISCLAIMER - PLEASE READ!

AB 3088, SB 91 & AB 832 created new law. This Form is intended to assist patrons with their legal research
and is in no way intended to replace the advice and counsel of an attorney. The Merced Superior Court Self-
Help Center does not provide legal advice. The Merced Superior Court Self-Help Center provides legal
resources and assistance with legal research as an educational service.
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http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&sectionNum=1946.

NOTICE FROM THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

NOTICE FROM THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA - YOU MUST TAKE ACTION TO AVOID EVICTION. If
you are unable to pay the amount demanded in this notice because of the COVID-19 pandemic, you
should take action right away.

IMMEDIATELY: Sign and return the declaration form included with your notice to your landlord
within 15 days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and other judicial holidays. Sign and return the
declaration even if you have done this before. You should keep a copy or a picture of the signed
form for your records.

BEFORE SEPTEMBER 30, 2021: Pay your landlord at least 25 percent of any rent you missed
between September 1, 2020, and September 30, 2021. If you need help paying that amount, apply
for rental assistance. You will still owe the rest of the rent to your landlord, but as long as you pay
25 percent by September 30, 2021, your landlord will not be able to evict you for failing to pay the
rest of the rent. You should keep careful track of what you have paid and any amount you still owe
to protect your rights and avoid future disputes.

AS SOON AS POSSIBLE: Apply for rental assistance! As part of California’s COVID-19 relief plan,
money has been set aside to help renters who have fallen behind on rent or utility payments. If you
are behind on rent or utility payments, YOU SHOULD COMPLETE A RENTAL ASSISTANCE
APPLICATION IMMEDIATELY! It is free and simple to apply. Citizenship or immigration status does
not matter. You can find out how to start your application by calling 1-833-430-2122 or visiting
http://housingiskey.com right away.
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DECLARATION OF COVID-19 FINANCIAL DISTRESS
Code Civ. Proc. § 1079.2, subd. (d)

I am currently unable to pay my rent or other financial obligations under the lease (or rental agreement) in full
because of one or more of the following: [Initial next to each item that applies]

1. Loss of income caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

— 2. Increased out-of-pocket expenses directly related to performing essential work during the COVID-19
pandemic.

— 3. Increased expenses directly related to health impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

—— 4. Childcare responsibilities or responsibilities to care for an elderly, disabled, or sick family member
directly related to the COVID-19 pandemic that limit my ability to earn income.

— 5. Increased costs for childcare or attending to an elderly, disabled, or sick family member directly related
to the COVID-19 pandemic.

—— 6. Other circumstances related to the COVID-19 pandemic that have reduced my income or increased my
expenses.

Any public assistance, including unemployment insurance, pandemic unemployment assistance, state disability
insurance (SDI), or paid family leave, that | have received since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic does not
fully make up for my loss of income and/or increased expenses.

I swear under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct
and that this declaration was executed in , County, California on (date).

Type or Print Name Signature
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http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1179.02.&lawCode=CCP

Proof of Service of 15-day Notice
Civil Code 1179.02.5(d)
(Rent due during the period from 9/1/2020-9/30/2021):

l, , the undersigned, being at least 18 years of age, served
this 15-Day Notice, of which the attached is a true copy, on , one of the
occupants listed above as follows:

~__0On , , | delivered the notice to the occupant personally.

___On , , | delivered the notice to a person of suitable age and discretion at the occupant’s

residence/business after being attempted personal service at the occupant’s residence, and business, if known.

On , , | mailed a second copy to the occupant at his or her own residence.

___0On , , | posted the notice in a conspicuous place on the property, after having attempted
personal service at the occupant’s residence, and business, if known, and after having been unable to find there a
person of suitable age and discretion. AND On , , | mailed a second copy to the occupant at
the property.

____Served with the notice was an unsigned copy of a declaration of COVID-19-related financial distress, required under
Code Civ. Proc. §1179.03, subd. (d).

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

Signature
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