15-Day Notice to Pay or Quit

(Nonpayment of Rent between March 1, 2020 and August 31, 2020)

(Code of Civil Procedure Section 1179.03(b)(4))

TO:	
(Name of Tenant(s))	
Premises location:	
Amount of total rent due and owing:	
(month/year) \$	(month/year) \$
YOU ARE HEREBY REQUIRED TO PAY this amount within fifted Holidays) from the date of service to this notice on you, or to failure to do so will result in legal proceedings being initiated agonth the forfeiture of the rental agreement, agreement or lease und damages, and costs of suit.	vacate and surrender possession of the premises. Your gainst you to recover possession of the premises, declare
RENT IS TO BE PAID TO:	
☐ The undersigned (landlord) ☐ The following person	1:
At the following address:	, California, Phone:
IN THE FOLLOWING MANNER:	
☐ In person. Usual days and hours for rent collection are:	
\square By mail to the person and address indicated above. \square By	electronic funds transfer previously established.
□ By deposit to account at within 5 miles of your rental, at, California.	
High Income Tenant: Proof of income on file with your landlo percent of the median income for the county where the rental percent of the median income for the county where the rental percent of the median income for the county where the rental percent of the pay the amount demanded by this notice because you are required to submit to your landlord documentation support of COVID-19-related financial distress provided with this notice. Your declaration of COVID-19-related financial distress, and you or deliver possession of the premises back to your landlord as reeviction protections enacted by the California Legislature as a rebegin eviction proceedings against you as soon as this 15-day not	property is located, as published by the Department of me Limits for 2020. As a result, if you claim that you are a have suffered COVID-19-related financial distress, you sing your claim together with the completed Declaration. If you fail to submit this documentation together with do not either pay the amount demanded in this notice equired by this notice, you will not be covered by the esult of the COVID-19 pandemic, and your landlord can

<u>Civ. Code § 1946</u>. If you elect to quit and to deliver up possession of the Premises instead of paying the total amount of the rent demanded in this notice, "State law permits former tenants to reclaim abandoned personal property left at the former address of the tenant, subject to certain conditions. You may or may not be able to reclaim property without incurring additional costs, depending on the cost of storing the property and the length of time before it is reclaimed. In general, these costs will be lower the sooner you contact your former landlord after being notified that property belonging to you was left behind after you moved out." If you are evicted, this same rule applies. (Civ. Code § 1946)

If the rent due includes any amount accrued during the period from 9/1/2020 through 6/30/2021, you will receive a separate notice for that amount. You will still owe the entire amount listed in both notices.

PLEASE SEE THE IMPORTANT NOTICE AT THE END OF THIS NOTICE.				
Date:	Owner/Agent:			

NOTICE FROM THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA:

If you are unable to pay the amount demanded in this notice, and have decreased income or increased expenses due to COVID-19, your landlord will not be able to evict you for this missed payment if you sign and deliver the declaration form included with your notice to your landlord within 15 days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and other judicial holidays, but you will still owe this money to your landlord. If you do not sign and deliver the declaration within this time period, you may lose the eviction protections available to you. You must return this form to be protected. You should keep a copy or picture of the signed form for your records.

You will still owe this money to your landlord and can be sued for the money, but you cannot be evicted from your home if you comply with these requirements. You should keep careful track of what you have paid and any amount you still owe to protect your rights and avoid future disputes. Failure to respond to this notice may result in an unlawful detainer action (eviction) being filed against you.

For information about legal resources that may be available to you, visit lawhelpca.org

DISCLAIMER - PLEASE READ!

AB 3088 created new law. **This Form** is intended to assist patrons with their legal research **and is in no way intended** to replace the advice and counsel of an attorney. The Merced Superior Court Self-Help Center does not provide legal advice. The Merced Superior Court Self-Help Center provides legal resources and assistance with legal research as an educational service.

DECLARATION OF COVID-19 FINANCIAL DISTRESS

Code Civ. Proc. § 1079.2, subd. (d)

	rently unable to pay my rent or other finant of one or more of the following: [Initial next	cial obligations under the lease (or rental agreement) in full at to each item that applies]
1.	. Loss of income caused by the COVID-19	pandemic.
	. Increased out-of-pocket expenses directly andemic.	related to performing essential work during the COVID-19
3.	. Increased expenses directly related to heal	th impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.
	. Childcare responsibilities or responsibiliti	ies to care for an elderly, disabled, or sick family member that limit my ability to earn income.
	. Increased costs for childcare or attending to the COVID-19 pandemic.	o an elderly, disabled, or sick family member directly related
	. Other circumstances related to the COVID xpenses.	0-19 pandemic that have reduced my income or increased my
insurance		turance, pandemic unemployment assistance, state disability eceived since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic does not ed expenses.
		ne State of California that the foregoing is true and correct, County, California on (date).
Type or P	Print Name	

Proof of Service of 15-day Notice Civil Code 1179.02.5(d)

(Rent due during the period from 3/1/2020-8/31/2020):

l,	, the undersi	gned, being at least 18 years of age, served
	which the attached is a true copy, on	, one of the
occupants listed above	e as follows:	
On	,, I delivered the notice to the occupant	personally.
On	,, I delivered the notice to a person of su	uitable age and discretion at the occupant's
residence/business aft	er being attempted personal service at the occupant's	s residence, and business, if known.
On	,, I mailed a second copy to the occupant at	his or her own residence.
	,, I posted the notice in a conspicuous p	
•	e occupant's residence, and business, if known, and aft and discretion. AND On,,	
the property.		
Served with the no	otice was an unsigned copy of a declaration of COVID-	19-related financial distress, required under
 Code Civ. Proc. §1179.	- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	•
Data		
Date:	Signature	
	Signature	