Law & Motion Matters
Matters are heard on Mondays at 1:30, Wednesdays and Thursdays at 10 am in Courtroom 9.
Matters are heard on Monday – Friday in Courtroom 8 at 8:15 am unless notified otherwise.
Small Claims Night Court
You must request Night Court from the Small Claims Court Clerk when you file your case. Requests for Night Court are handled on a first come, first serve basis.
Hearing Dates and Time
Dates: 2nd Wednesday of each month
Time: 5:00 pm
Duration: Approximately 1 hour depending on the number of cases heard
What to Bring: Any witnesses or exhibits (evidence)
Payments: No payments made on hearing date
Please note: Interpreter services are currently not available during the Small Claims Night Court hours.
Please be aware the superior court is not authorized by law to give legal advice to private individuals. If you are seeking legal advice as to which forms should be filed, you need to contact a private attorney.
A self-addressed stamped envelope must be included in documents to be filed in order to receive conformed copies back.
Please visit the Fees page for the current list of fees.
Over the Counter:
The Court accepts cash and money orders. Personal checks require a financial declaration.
The Court accepts money orders by mail. The court also accepts personal checks up to $25. The Court does not accept credit cards or debit cards at this time.
For instructions and information on eviction, please view the Unlawful Detainer Instructions document.
For case search information, please visit the Records Search page.
The court provides a public computer in the Unlimited Civil office that can be used to browse the following sites:
- California Courts Website
- Superior Court of California, County of Merced
- Case lookup (Can only be accessed from the public computer)
A set of instructions are provided to assist you in using this service.
If you have your own device that supports wireless networking, you can bring it into the courthouse and connect to our Free Public Wi-Fi.
These matters are handled by the Merced County Clerk-Recorder's Office. They are located at 2222 M St., Main Floor, Merced, CA 95340. They can be reached by telephone at (209) 385-7627.
Property tax matters are handled at the County Administration Building, located at 2222 M St., Merced, CA 95340. They can be reached by telephone at (209) 385-7631.